Skip to content, sitemap or skip to search.

Personal tools
Join now
You are here: Home FSF News Ted Ts'o wins the 2006 Award for the Advancement of Free Software

Ted Ts'o wins the 2006 Award for the Advancement of Free Software

by peterb Contributions Published on Mar 26, 2007 01:09 PM
Theodore Ts'o was recognized for his many and varied contributions to free software and his work for the kernel developer community.

Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA---March 26, 2007---At the ceremony for the 2006 Free Software Awards, Richard Stallman presented Theodore Ts'o with the Award for the Advancement of Free Software.

Theodore Ts'o was recognized for his many and varied contributions to free software, including his work on the kernel Linux. His role as project leader in the development of Kerberos---the first single sign-on authentication system---and his work on the Open Network Computing Remote Procedure (ONC RPC) are representative of his important role in Internet security. He was also cited for his work as maintainer and developer of the key utilities under the project "E2fs", which are used to maintain file systems for GNU/Linux. Ts'o has also played an important role in community efforts, organizing the annual summit for kernel developers and publishing educational materials and tutorials.

Speaking at the award ceremony, Ts'o said of his work, "It's been great fun. I think a lot of people work on free software for many reasons and that's OK, but I have always been proud of the fact that people have been able to use the work that I have done to advance the cause of free software".

Every year, three finalists are nominated for the award by the free software community. This year's other two finalists were Wietse Venema, recognized for his creation of the Postfix mail system and for his contributions to security tools, and Yukihiro Matsumoto, recognized for his work in designing the Ruby programing language.

Previous winners of the free software award:

  • 2005 Andrew Tridgell
  • 2004 Theo de Raadt
  • 2003 Alan Cox
  • 2002 Lawrence Lessig
  • 2001 Guido van Rossum
  • 2000 Brian Paul
  • 1999 Miguel de Icaza
  • 1998 Larry Wall

This year's Award Committee was Peter H. Salus (chair), Richard Stallman, Andrew Tridgell (winner 2005), Alan Cox (winner 2003), Lawrence Lessig (winner 2002), Vernor Vinge, Frederic Couchet, Jonas Oberg, Hong Feng, Raju Mathur, and Suresh Ramasubramanian.

About the Annual Award for the Advancement of Free Software

The Free Software Foundation sponsors the annual Award for the Advancement of Free Software, to recognize and honor those that have made a great contribution to the progress and development of free software (free as in freedom as defined in the Free Software Definition), through activities that accord with the spirit of software freedom.

Any kind of activity could be eligible---writing software, writing documentation, publishing software, even journalism---but whatever the activity, we want to recognize long-term central contributions to the development of the world of software freedom. "Accord with the spirit" means, for example, that software, manuals or collections of them (online or on CD) must be entirely free. Work done commercially is eligible, but we give this award to individuals, not to companies, organizations, or teams. You can support the award and the work of the Free Software Foundation here.

About the Free Software Foundation

The Free Software Foundation, founded in 1985, is dedicated to promoting computer users' right to use, study, copy, modify, and redistribute computer programs. The FSF promotes the development and use of free (as in freedom) software---particularly the GNU operating system and its GNU/Linux variants---and free documentation for free software. The FSF also helps to spread awareness of the ethical and political issues of freedom in the use of software. Their web site, located at, is an important source of information about GNU/Linux. Donations to support their work can be made at They are headquartered in Boston, MA, USA.

Press Contact: For more information about this announcement please contact Peter Brown at +1-617-542-5942 or

Document Actions

The FSF is a charity with a worldwide mission to advance software freedom — learn about our history and work. is powered by:


Send your feedback on our translations and new translations of pages to